Who we are


Staff

Emily Kancharla,
Lead Admin Assistant
Vacant,
Admin Assistant
B. Scott Rose,
Lab Mechanic

Faculty

Dr. Meg Blome
Teaching Assistant Professor
BLOMEM19@ECU.EDU
252-328-9770

Expertise: Paleolimnology (Past Lakes), Geoarchaeology, Paleoenvironmental reconstruction using microfossils (especially ostracods), African Paleoclimate, Petroleum systems, Oil & Gas industry

Dr. Stephen J. Culver
Harriot College Distinguished Professor
CULVERS@ECU.EDU
252-328-6606

Expertise: Distribution of modern benthic foraminifera, paleoenvironmental reconstruction using microfossils

Dr. David W. Farris
Teaching Assistant Professor
FARRISD19@ECU.EDU
252-328-6773

Expertise: Tectonics, structural geology, igneous geochemistry, geology and potential field geophysics

Dr. Adriana Heimann
Associate Professor
HEIMANNA@ECU.EDU
252-328-9770

Expertise: Fe isotope geochemistry and fractionation; volatiles/fluids in minerals and rare-metal deposits; early Earth geochemistry and origin of BIFs; origin of color in minerals, synchrotron XAS/XANES

Dr. Eric Horsman
Associate Professor,
Graduate Program Director, Interim Chair
HORSMANE@ECU.EDU
252-328-6360

Expertise: Structural geology, tectonics, geophysics

Dr. Eduardo Leorri
Associate Professor
Associate Dean for Planning

LEORRIE@ECU.EDU
252-737-2529

Expertise: Coastal evolution at different times scales (within the Quaternary/Holocene) from a multidisciplinary perspective (micropaleontology, geochemistry, sedimentology)

Dr. David Mallinson
Professor,
Undergraduate Program Director
MALLINSOND@ECU.EDU
252-328-1344

Expertise: Coastal and marine geology and processes; stratigraphy; Quaternary geology and climate change

Dr. Alex K. Manda
Associate Professor
MANDAA@ECU.EDU
252-328-9403

Expertise: Water resources, groundwater surface water interactions, saltwater intrusion

Dr. Siddhartha Mitra
Professor,
Integrated Coastal Sciences PhD Program

MITRAS@ECU.EDU

Expertise: organic geochemistry, environmental chemistry, black carbon

Dr. Stephen Moysey
Professor,
Director of the Water Resources Center
MOYSEYS18@ECU.EDU
252-328-6360

Expertise: Hydrogeophysics, near surface geophysics, hydrology, subsurface flow and transport, geostatistics

Dr. Stanley R. Riggs
Emeritus, Distinguished Professor
RIGGSS@ECU.EDU
252-328-6360

 

Dr. Matt Sirianni
Assistant Professor,
SIRANNIM20@ECU.EDU
252-328-6360

Expertise: Environmental geophysics; ground/surface water interactions; wetland disturbance & carbon cycling; soil salinization & saltwater intrusion


Associated Faculty

Dr. Reide Corbett
Professor, Dean of Integrated Coastal ProgramsDr. Corbett’s website

Part-Time Faculty

Ms. Cynthia Crane,
Lecturer

Dr. Joy Moses-Hall,
Teaching Assistant Professor

Adjunct Faculty

Kathleen Farrell,
NC Geological Survey

Dr. Steve Campbell,
Teaching Assistant Professor

Dr. Ekrem,
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Dr. Qubin Qin,           
Adjunct Assistant Professor

Faculty Emeriti

Dr. Charles Q. Brown,
Professor Emeritus

Dr. David P. Lawrence,
Associate Professor Emeritus

Dr. Richard L. Mauger,
Professor Emeritus

Dr. Catherine Rigsby,
Professor Emeritus

Dr. Scott W. Snyder,
Professor Emeritus

Dr. Terri Woods,
Professor Emeritus